Daily Archives: March 13, 2012

Gallery

On Huff Post…Guilt: My Last, Worst Addiction

I’d just told [my son’s psychiatrist] that I was a 43-year-old single mother of two sons, that I worked as a freelance TV writer and I was in fine health. Of course I didn’t say I’d been depressed for as … Continue reading

Gallery

Vets’ mental health may be sold short | City Brights: Winston Chung | an SFGate.com blog

This psychiatrist writing in SF Chronicle reports on issues possibly behind the Afghan massacre headlines… Whether it’s for states’ mental health budgets, hospital psychiatric services, or even financing a suicide barrier at the Golden Gate Bridge, many are reluctant to … Continue reading

Gallery

Classes teach first aid for mental health – USATODAY.com

Beautiful, practical and lifesaving! Check out this great trend in preventive mental health care. It’s called mental health first aid. And while the classes are not yet nearly as common as traditional first aid courses — the kind you take … Continue reading

Gallery

Antidepressants Work | Reuters

This is a significant meta-study showing that antidepressants work for far more people than recent reports would suggest, often 20% better than a placebo, and for mild, moderate and severe depression. … Despite recent debate about how well antidepressants really … Continue reading